A Review: Sony PS3 Slim

September 11, 2009


I bought a Hong Kong imported set for about SGD513 yesterday and put it to the test. Connecting it to the TV is ABC, connecting it to the internet via WiFi is just a password away (as compared to the Wii that i had, PS3 is almost like lego). The bluetooth DUALSHOCK®3 wireless controller can be connected at the front USB for charging while I try out the system. A HDMI cable (sold separately) I got from a friend allows my Bravia 40″ to automatically setup the best resolution of 1080i.


All set up in less than 10 mins including unboxing and then I was already online surfing the forum and FaceBook. Then I put in a disc (Metal Gear Solid 4) and it took to about 8mins to download into the system (while I had my dinner).

Without using an instruction manual I tried to play games and surf the internet with basic input of text using the virtual keyboard, and that’s the tough part. The DUALSHOCK®3 wireless controller has 16 buttons and it really took me a while to understand it’s functions (I was not a PSone, PS2 or PSP user before) but after getting aquainted for a couple of hours it gets a bit easier. I still can’t input what’s on my mind in FaceBook.. don’t seem to work… and one on one combat always gets me almost killed… but I am learning.

Leave a Reply

