Nokia 8600 Luna: A Review

December 31, 2007


Its the end of 2007. Most people will look back at what they have done or achieved. I never do that because I always move forward and never look back. Of course life changes over 365days, and Technogad grows and changes too and I thinks its right of me to say a few words about, but not too much.
Technogad did many steps forward. Its  number 11 on the idtomorrow‘s social ranking of the Industrial Design blog community and 2 weeks ago received its first phone from Nokia for a test and review.


So, I received the phone and did what I need to do. First test, I gave the phone to my mum, a technology phobic person, to use for a week. Surprise, there was no complains. This is the power of Nokia user friendliness. Of course, this phone is a basic functions, look good communicating device so it serves its functions.
What I liked about is its personality. Its button pulses through the smoked glass cover when it is slide closed, like a machine with its own heart beat… This is enough for me to love it and put it on top of my ‘want’ list!
Plus, its made of stainless steel thus giving it a nice weight and feel on the palm of your hands. This is like having a Mont Blanc or any glossy heavy writing instrument to sign your cheque, it just feels good. The slimness and curves of this simple phone feels good in the pocket too.
This product is so glossy on the front, you have to constantly polish it, especially for people with oily faces like me, same as what a person would do on a iconic product like the Zippo lighter. And the ‘clink’ when the lighter is opened… the slide of the Luna does not clink but gives a ‘thud’… the spring is robust and slides up fast giving me the feel that it will not break after many uses like most plasticky phones I have, but of course, I have not dropped it yet, but that is another story.
Function wise, its so simple I have nothing much to say except that I like the ‘last used number’ in the SMS function which got rid of the steps of finding the person that you are messaging recently or often. I don’t have this function in all my N-series and older models, so I feel that this function should be in all phones… oh and the sound quality is good too.
This phone is not new but it still feels good to have to now just because its one of those quality phones and cost just a fraction of the Vertu.

Extract from Nokia

Leave a Reply

